DeutschEnglish

Home

Pro Phalombe
P.O. Box 3601
CH-6002 Lucerne

info@pro-phalombe.ch

PC-Kto./IBAN: 60–572647–3/
CH63 0900 0000 6057 2647 3

Version February 8th 2018

Design OPTIVISION

facebook Be part of the
Pro Phalombe Community

HISTORICAL FACTS

Excavations show that the shore of Lake Malawi was inhabited for millennias. The first human traces can be tracked back 2.5 million years (Homo Rudolfensis).

About 10'000 years ago Bushmen populated the shores of the lake, untill these Pygmies were more and more dispersed by invading Bantu people from Central Africa.These Bantus worked as farmers, kept cattle and already knew the iron. They were divided into different groups and soon made up the kingdom of Maravi. The word means reflected light and is thought to stand for the sun being mirrored on Lake Malawi.

Portuguese sailors were the first Europeans in the 15th Century to set foot on the shores of the Indian Ocean. A lively trade with domestic and Arab nations began. The East African coast became notoriously famous for the slave trade in the 18th and 19th centuries. Any development stagnated and large areas were vitually depopulated.

From a European perspective, the second African expedition of Dr. David Livingstone brought the actual discovery of Lake Malawi. He called the waters Nyasa, which gave the later British Protectorate (1891) the name of Nyasaland. As a staunch opponent of the slave trade Livingstone saw the colonization of Africa as an opportunity to end the human tragedy. This led to a steady inflow of traders, adventurers and missionaries.

The general military draft during the two world wars, saw many Africans in action on the side of the English. As a result there was the first African uprising in the history of the colony on 23rd January 1915 (John Chilembwe Rising). That day is commemorated today as the National Day of Malawi.

The first African politician who successfully opposed the colonial power was Dr. Hastings Kamuzu Banda, who was then practicing as a doctor in London. As chairman of the first African Political Party, in 1959 the doctor was called back to his homeland. In 1964 his party (Malawi Congress Party) led the country into independence. Malawi remains one of the poorest Nations of Africa.

Major economic problems and the controversial leadership of the "President for life" led to an increasing isolation of the country. Only due to pressures from major donor countries and some street protest in the country, in 1993 a multi party system was introduced. One year later the United Democratic Front under Bakili Muluzi won the presidential elections and took over power from Kamuzu Banda's thirty years of one party rule. After some failed attempts to change the constitution in order to extend his presidency, Muluzi lost the controversial elections on 20th May 2004 to Bingu Mutharika(UDF), his designated successor, of the United Democratic Front (UDF). This happend especially because the opposition parties could not jointly agree on an opposition candidate. In 2009 Mutharika himself tried to run for a 3rd term in office, this however is not permitted under the Malawi constitutional law.

On April 5th 2012 Mutharika succumbed to a heart attack. He was followed in office by the previous Vice President Joyce Banda, she took the oath of office on April 7th 2012.

Since 2014 President Arthur Peter Mutharika from the Democratic Party Progressive (DPP) rule the country for the next five years.

EnglishDeutsch

Home

Pro Phalombe
Postfach 3601
CH-6002 Luzern

info@pro-phalombe.ch

PC-Kto./IBAN: 60–572647–3/
CH63 0900 0000 6057 2647 3

Version 8. Februar 2018

Design OPTIVISION

facebook Werden Sie Teil der
Pro Phalombe Community

GESCHICHTLICHE FAKTEN

Ausgrabungen belegen, dass die Ufer des Malawisees bereits seit Jahrtausenden bewohnt werden. Die ersten Spuren lassen gar auf eine 2.5 Mio Jahre alte Geschichte schliessen (Homo Rudolfensis).

Vor etwa 10 000 Jahren besiedelten Buschmänner die Gestade um den See, bis aus Zentralafrika einfallende Bantuvölker die Pygmäen zunehmend verdrängten. Diese Bantu arbeiteten als Ackerbauern, hielten Vieh und kannten bereits die Eisenverarbeitung. Sie zerfielen bald in verschiedene Gruppen und bildeten unter anderem das Reich Maravi. Das Wort bedeutet widerspiegelndes Licht und spielt vermutlich auf die Sonnenspiegelung im Malawisee an.

Portugiesische Seefahrer waren die ersten Europäer, die im 15. Jahrhundert an der Küste des Indischen Ozeans einen regen Handel mit einheimischen und arabischen Völkern betrieben. Traurige Berühmtheit erlangte die Ostafrikanische Küste allerdings erst im Zug des Sklavenhandels im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert. Jegliche Entwicklung stagnierte und weite Landstriche wurden nahezu entvölkert.

Die zweite Afrika-Expedition von Dr. David Livingstone brachte aus europäischer Sicht die eigentliche Entdeckung des Malawisees. Er taufte das Gewässer Nyasa, was dem späteren britischen Protektorat (1891) den Namen Nyasaland gab. Als überzeugter Gegner des Sklavenhandels sah Livingstone in der Kolonialisierung Afrikas die wirksamste Chance für dessen Ende. Dies führte zu einem regen Zustrom eines bunt gemischten Volkes von Händlern, Abenteurern und Missionaren.

Die Mobilmachung in den Kolonien hatte zur Folge, dass in beiden Weltkriegen etliche Afrikaner auf der Seite der Engländer ins Gefecht ziehen mussten. Eine Folge war der erste afrikanische Aufstand in der Geschichte der Kolonie am 23. Januar 1915 (John Chilembwe Rising). Dieser Tag ist heute der Nationalfeiertag Malawis.

Der erste Politiker, welcher sich erfolgreich gegen die Kolonialmacht stemmte, war Dr. Hastings
Kamuzu Banda, der damals in London als Arzt praktizierte. Als Vorsitzender der ersten afrikanischen Partei wurde der Arzt 1959 zurück in die Heimat gerufen. 1964 führte seine Partei (Malawi Congress Party) das Land in die Unabhängigkeit. Malawi blieb in der Folge eines der ärmsten Länder Afrikas.

Grosse wirtschaftliche Probleme, sowie der umstrittene Führungsstil des Präsidenten auf Lebenszeit führten zu einer zunehmenden Isolation des Landes. Erst durch den Druck der wichtigsten Geberländer liess sich 1993 ein Mehrparteiensystem einführen. Bei den ersten freien Wahlen 1994 wurde Bakili Muluzi von der United Democratic Front (UDF) zum Präsidenten gewählt und 1999 wiedergewählt. Nach vergeblichen Versuchen, die Verfassung zu ändern, um seine Präsidentschaft zu verlängern, wurde er nach der umstrittenen Wahl vom 20. Mai 2004 von dem von ihm als Nachfolger gewünschten Bingu Mutharika (UDF) abgelöst, vor allem weil die Oppositionsparteien sich nicht auf einen gemeinsamen Gegenkandidaten einigen konnten. 2009 scheiterte ein Vorstoss Mutharikas, der vorsah, ihm eine dritte Amtszeit zu ermöglichen, was derzeit durch die malawische Verfassung verboten wird.

Am 5. April 2012 erlag Mutharika einem Herzinfarkt. Im folgte die bisherige Vize-Präsidentin Joyce Banda nach, die am 7. April 2012 den Amtseid ablegte.

Seit 2014 regiert Präsident Arthur Peter Mutharika von der Democratic Progresive Party (DPP) für die nächsten fünf Jahre das Land.