DeutschEnglish

Home

Pro Phalombe
P.O. Box 3601
CH-6002 Lucerne

info@pro-phalombe.ch

PC-Kto./IBAN: 60–572647–3/
CH63 0900 0000 6057 2647 3

Version February 8th 2018

Design OPTIVISION

facebook Be part of the
Pro Phalombe Community

DUTIES AND BENEFITS

In essence, the function of the hospital is defined by four contracts. The three medical tasks are to offer therapeutic medical services as well as prevention and medical education (nursing school).As the largest employer in the reagion, there is also an economic benefit to the local people.

Therapeutic Medicine

Today the hospital offers approximately 200 beds, half of which are occupied by patients of the maternity ward. The other inpatients are distribuited among the children's, women's and men's wards. The clinical diagnosis is supplemented by a small laboratory, a simple x-ray machine and an ultrasound machine. In the small operating theatre there are primarily obstetrics procedures performed unless there are surgeons present who can perform larger operations. In the ambulatory section each year up to 30'000 patients are seen with infectious diseases being most prevalent (malaria, tuberculosis, aids etc.)

Preventive Medicine

Prenatal care, immunization program for infants and family planning are just some of the activities that are offered by the hospital internally and externally. In the medical department there is a separate section that looks after the specific needs of the Primary Health Care Program (PHC).

Training assignment

Of course, in addition to the operation of the nursing school there are further needs of training of other employees of various departments. For example, this incorporates special training programms which expand the knowledge of the medical and nursing staff. On the other hand there are specific educational programms for individual employees. Among others there was one medical assistant who recieved an ophthalmic training and another was retrained as an anesthesia aid. In addition a number of guests are constantly in the hospital to get further education for their later assignment in a rural health centre.

The Phalombe hospital as an employer

The hospital incorporates a medical, administrative and a nursing department. In addition there is the school with separate accounting. A total of over 170 employees are working in the four departments. Depending on the season and ongoing projects there are a few dozen temporary laborers employed additionally. The daily schedule of the hospital is provided by the Hospital Management Committee (Hospital Board), which meets every 14 days for a meeting. Part of which are the chief of departments, the accountant and a representative of the nuns. A director oversees the activities of the Hospital Management Committee.

EnglishDeutsch

Home

Pro Phalombe
Postfach 3601
CH-6002 Luzern

info@pro-phalombe.ch

PC-Kto./IBAN: 60–572647–3/
CH63 0900 0000 6057 2647 3

Version 8. Februar 2018

Design OPTIVISION

facebook Werden Sie Teil der
Pro Phalombe Community

AUFGABEN UND LEISTUNGEN

Im Wesentlichen wird die Funktion des Spitals durch vier Leistungsaufträge definiert; die drei medizinischen Aufgaben bestehen in der Gewährleistung einer kurativen Medizin und dem Angebot einer guten Prävention, sowie einem medizinischen Ausbildungsauftrag (Krankenschwesternschule etc.). Als grösster Arbeitgeber der Region besteht zudem ein nicht zu unterschätzender volkswirtschaftlicher Nutzen.

Kurative Medizin

Heute verfügt das Spital über gut 200 Betten, wobei knapp die Hälfte der stationären Patienten im Bereich der Maternité hospitalisiert sind. Die übrigen stationären Patienten verteilen sich auf die Kinder-, die Frauen- und die Männerstation. Die klinische Diagnosestellung wird ergänzt durch ein kleines Labor, eine einfache Röntgeneinrichtung und ein Ultraschallgerät. Im kleinen Operationssaal werden vor allem Eingriffe im Rahmen der Geburtshilfe und je nach anwesenden Ärzten auch anderweitige, grössere Operationen durchgeführt. Im ambulanten Sektor werden jährlich bis zu 30000 Patienten betreut, wobei die Infektionskrankheiten nach wie vor die dominierenden Leiden darstellen (Malaria, Tuberkulose, AIDS etc.).

Präventive Medizin

Schwangerschaftsvorsorge, Impfprogramm für Kleinkinder und Familienplanung sind nur einige der Tätigkeiten, welche von der Klinik intern und extern angeboten werden. Im medizinischen Departement existiert eine eigene Abteilung, die sich um die spezifischen Belange der Vorsorge kümmert (Primary Health Care Program, PHC).

Ausbildungsauftrag

Selbstverständlich müssen neben dem Betrieb der Schwesternschule auch sämtliche anderen Arbeitnehmer der verschiedenen Departemente weiter geschult werden. Als Beispiel können spezielle Fortbildungsprogramme im Spital aufgeführt werden, welche das Wissen des medizinischen Personals aber auch des Pflegepersonals erweitern. Andererseits werden individuelle Mitarbeiter für spezifische Aufgaben entsprechend vorbereitet. So konnte unter anderen im medizinischen Departement ein medizinischer Assistent eine spezielle augenärztliche Ausbildung, ein anderer eine Narkoseausbildung geniessen. Zudem sind ständig eine Anzahl Gäste im Spital, welche für Einsätze in entfernten Health Centres ausgebildet werden.

Spital Phalombe als Arbeitgeber

Die Struktur des Spitals Phalombe sieht ein medizinisches, ein administratives und ein Departement der Pflege vor. Hinzu kommt das Departement der Schule mit separater Buchhaltung. Insgesamt über 170 Mitarbeiter werden in den vier Departementen beschäftigt, wobei je nach Saison und laufenden Projekten noch einige Dutzend Hilfsarbeiter zusätzlich temporär beschäftigt werden. Der tägliche Ablauf des Spitals wird durch das Hospital Management Committee (Spitalvorstand) sichergestellt, welches sich alle 14 Tage zu einer Sitzung trifft. Hierzu gehören die Departementsvorsteher, der Buchhalter und eine Vertreterin der Ordensschwestern. Ein Verwaltungsrat wacht über die Aktivitäten des Hospital Management Committee.