DeutschEnglish

Home

Pro Phalombe
P.O. Box 3601
CH-6002 Lucerne

info@pro-phalombe.ch

PC-Kto./IBAN: 60–572647–3/
CH63 0900 0000 6057 2647 3

Version February 8th 2018

Design OPTIVISION

facebook Be part of the
Pro Phalombe Community

FACTS & FIGURES

The hospital is part of the Phalombe Association of Christian Hospitals in Malawi (Christian Hospital Association of Malawi, CHAM). To appreciate the problems it is important to understand the cross financing between CHAM and the Ministry of Health. In the past all salaries of CHAM employees were paid for by the Ministry of Health. Under the new government, these payments were becoming more and more irregular and sometimes were stalled. Thus, the government hospitals offer more attractive jobs with higher and regular pay. As a consequence the hospital staff migrated away from the CHAM hospitals.

With 220 beds, the hospital Phalombe serves as a catchment area of about half a million inhabitants. Each year about 6500 inpatients and 9500 outpatients are treated. Because of the dire economic situation it is not possible to cover the cost of treatment by the patients. The annual hospital budget is 385'000.–, of which 185'000.– is used as salaries for the 300 employees.

Therefore the hospital is dependent on financial support from third parties. Pro Phalombe is a vital part in the running of the hospital, it works jointly with the hospital management, defines priorities and prepares the most urgent projects.

EnglishDeutsch

Home

Pro Phalombe
Postfach 3601
CH-6002 Luzern

info@pro-phalombe.ch

PC-Kto./IBAN: 60–572647–3/
CH63 0900 0000 6057 2647 3

Version 8. Februar 2018

Design OPTIVISION

facebook Werden Sie Teil der
Pro Phalombe Community

FACTS & FIGURES

Das Spital Phalombe gehört zum Verband der christlichen Spitäler Malawis (Christian Hospital Association of Malawi, CHAM). Wichtig zum Verstehen einiger Probleme des Spitals sind Querfinanzierungen zwischen CHAM und dem Gesundheitsministerium. So wurden in der Vergangenheit sämtliche Saläre von CHAM-Mitarbeitern durch das Gesundheitsministerium bezahlt. Diese Zahlungen wurden unter der neuen Regierung mit immer grösserer Verspätung, falls überhaupt, getätigt. Die somit bevorzugten Regierungsspitäler bieten attraktivere Arbeitsplätze (höhere Saläre). Eine logische Folge ist die Abwanderung von Arbeitskräften aus den CHAM-Spitälern.

Mit den 220 Betten versorgt das Spital Phalombe ein Einzugsgebiet von rund einer halben Million Einwohner. Pro Jahr werden ca. 6500 Patienten stationär und 9100 ambulant betreut. Aufgrund der wirtschaftlich schwierigen Verhältnisse ist es nicht möglich, die Behandlungskosten durch die Patienten zu decken. Das jährliche Spitalbudget beläuft sich auf 385 000.–, wovon 185 000 für die Saläre der 300 Angestellten verwendet werden.

Das Spital ist damit auf finanzielle Unterstützung von Dritten angewiesen. Der Verein Pro Phalombe arbeitet eng mit der Spitalleitung zusammen, gemeinsam werden Prioritäten definiert und die dringlichsten Projekte vorbereitet.