DeutschEnglish

Home

Pro Phalombe
P.O. Box 3601
CH-6002 Lucerne

info@pro-phalombe.ch

PC-Kto./IBAN: 60–572647–3/
CH63 0900 0000 6057 2647 3

Version February 8th 2018

Design OPTIVISION

facebook Be part of the
Pro Phalombe Community

THE HOSPITAL

The hospital was founded in 1960 by the order of the Catholic Medical Mission Sisters. Already in 1963 it had a capacity of 100 beds. Simultaneously, a nursing school was opened, which educated annually, 20–40 qualified nurses. The last extension of the hospital was carried out in 1974. Most of the needed construction funds were provided by the Medical Mission Sisters of Holland.

The medical team was staffed by Memisa (Medicus Mundi Holland, today Cordaid), which managed to guarantee at all times at least two medical practitioners in attendance at the hospital. In the early 90s, Memisa withdrew from Phalombe for a variety of reasons. This forced many surgical activities to cease.

This critical situation was eased in 1993 by a swiss couple, who took over the medical management of the hospital. At the same time this was the beginning of the ongoing commitment of Pro Phalombe. The swiss work was recongnized and led, among other things, to a renewed engagement of Memisa. This was an important factor to ensure the continued operation of the hospital Phalombe. In 1994 the hospital was officially handed over to the Catholic Church.

EnglishDeutsch

Home

Pro Phalombe
Postfach 3601
CH-6002 Luzern

info@pro-phalombe.ch

PC-Kto./IBAN: 60–572647–3/
CH63 0900 0000 6057 2647 3

Version 8. Februar 2018

Design OPTIVISION

facebook Werden Sie Teil der
Pro Phalombe Community

GESCHICHTE DES SPITALS

Das Spital wurde 1960 vom katholischen Orden der Medical Mission Sisters gegründet. Bereits 1963 hatte das Spital eine Kapazität von 100 Betten. Gleichzeitig wurde eine Schwesternschule eröffnet, welche bis heute Jahr für Jahr zwischen 20 und 40 diplomierte Krankenschwestern hervor gebracht hat. Der letzte Ausbau des Spitals fand im Jahr 1974 statt. Die meisten der zum Betrieb und Aufbau benötigten Gelder wurden durch die Medical Mission Sisters in Holland aufgetrieben.

Die ärztliche Versorgung wurde durch Personal von MEMISA (Medicus Mundi Holland; heute Cordaid) gewährleistet, welche eine Versorgung mit mindestens zwei Ärzten über die Jahre hinweg aufrecht erhielt. Zu Beginn der 90er Jahre zog sich MEMISA aus verschiedenen Gründen aus Phalombe zurück, so dass viele operative Tätigkeiten eingestellt werden mussten.

Dr. Chris Knoblauch bei seiner Arbeit um 19941993 wurde der mittlerweile kritische Zustand entschärft, indem ein Schweizer Ehepaar die ärztliche Leitung des Spitals übernahm. In diese Zeit fällt der Beginn des Engagements des Vereins Pro Phalombe. Die schweizerische Arbeit wurde anerkannt und führte unter anderem zu einem Wiedereinstieg von MEMISA. Dies war ein wichtiger Faktor, um die Fortsetzung des Betriebs des Spitals Phalombe zu gewährleisten. 1994 wurde das Spital offiziell der katholischen Landeskirche übergeben.